Clinical Pathways

PDTAs (Diagnostic Therapeutic Assistance Pathways) are documents that describe in detail all the diagnostic and therapeutic procedures that a patient suffering from a certain pathology must follow. These paths are defined on the basis of international guidelines and are updated annually.

These pathways are defined at the regional level (regional PDTA) and must subsequently be implemented in specific hospital realities.

The core of the PDTAs are multidisciplinary meetings made up of the main medical-surgical figures, such as surgeons, gastroenterologists, oncologists, radiologists, anesthesiologists, pathologists, infectious diseases, geriatricians, and eventually specific figures such as endoscopists, cardiologists, nuclear medicine doctors, pulmonologists, and endocrinologists.

Our structure currently has four PDTAs in place:


  • PDTA of a patient suffering from hepatocellular carcinoma
  • PDTA of the patient affected by liver metastases of colorectal cancer (Handout)
  • PDTA of patient suffering from pancreatic tumors
  • PDTA of a patient suffering from bile duct tumors